CAND Awards

Congratulations to CAND & AND Award Recipients!

The Envelope Please!
The 2016-17 CAND/AND award recipients have been announced! Our thanks to all who compiled and submitted award packets and those who wrote letters of recommendation. While all of the candidates were deserving of the awards, only those listed below were chosen for recognition this year.

And the winners are…

2016-2017 Member Awards

CA Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

CAND’s HIGHEST AWARD – Dolores Nyhus Memorial Award
Dorothy C. Chen-Maynard, PhD, RD, FAND

Distinguished Service Award
Alice DW Fagundes, MS, RDN, CDE, FAND

Excellence in Clinical Nutrition
Leslie A. Davis-Doshier, RD

Excellence in Community Nutrition
Avtar K. Nijjer-Sidhu, PhD, RD

Excellence in Education
Ashwini Wagle, EdD, MS, RD

Carol Hayes Torio Excellence in Management
Rory C. Pace, MPH, RD, CSR

Excellence in Private Practice, Business, Communication
Sarah Koszyk, MA, RDN

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

AND AWARD – Outstanding Dietitian of the Year
Dorothy C. Chen-Maynard, PhD, RD, FAND

Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year
Jessica L. Gust, MS, RDN – Coastal Tri Counties District
Martha L. Lawder, RDN – Northern Area District
Sarah R. Miller, RDN – Silicon Valley District
Ramona G. Parra, RDN, Central Valley District
Francis Y. Rodriguez, RD, CSR – Inland District
Shelby D. Yaceczko, RDN – Orange District

Recognized Young Dietetic Technician of the Year
Stephanie M. Prideaux, DTR – Orange District

Outstanding Dietetic Student – Didactic Program
Patrick M. Newton – SFSU

Outstanding Dietetic Student – Dietetic Internship
Temitope (Tope) A. Pedro, MPH – SFSU

Outstanding Dietetic Educator of the Year
Erika Ireland, MPH, RD, CDE, CLC – CSU Fresno

The 2017-2018 Award Applications are available! Click here to access information and the applications. Award applications are due 10/23/17.